The GP Gazette

Homeless people are people too

Back to Article
Back to Article

Homeless people are people too

Hang on for a minute...we're trying to find some more stories you might like.


Email This Story






Why do people treat homeless people so bad? Don’t you think they’ve been through enough? They live on the streets; they don’t have anywhere to sleep. Why be mean to people who already have enough to go through? I know for a fact homeless people are nicer than well off people, because when I was younger I was at the mall and I was walking around and my mom was right there but she is a lighter complexion then mine so I don’t think she knew. She came up to me and said, “Do you know where your mom is? Are you ok.” I wasn’t that old so it didn’t really make me feel any way back then but after she walked away she was sitting on the corner and she had all her things and they told her that she had to leave and she couldn’t be there with all her things.   

*I would give them food or tell them to go to the shelter” said Helen Bakideh.

Marisol Pimentel said she would simply tell them “no”.  

 

In 2008 302,009 or 44 percent were employed after being homeless. There are states that you can be homeless and get back on your feet. Some people in 2017 and 2018 are lazy and don’t really like to do anything. So I can understand why people wouldn’t want to give them their money sometimes, because a lot of the time you go back and three months later they’re in the same place or maybe even high. Also maybe people don’t know how it feels to be homeless and they don’t know what they go through.

“Yes absolutely people treat them bad because they have no power, No I wouldn’t give them any money because most of it has to do with drugs or alcohol. I don’t think they get treated badly I mean who treats them bad?” said a Mr. Brandy a teacher at GPJH.

Andrea McDonald said “I would be very upset because think go get a job and those people really might be trying but cant go get one”.

14 Comments

14 Responses to “Homeless people are people too”

  1. SkySnek on March 27th, 2018 11:05 am

    The debate about the homeless population is fiery, as supporting the homeless by giving them money can both ways. It can either help or hinder their ability to get out of homelessness. I also believe that homeless people have caused their own problem, and they should get themselves out of it by working hard to get out of it. I personally refuse to give homeless people money, because I do not know if they are actually homeless, or are using the money for their addictions.

  2. Pearl - Westminster College on March 27th, 2018 11:15 am

    Hi London. I think this is a really great issue to draw attention to. I urge you to look more into the options many homeless people have in Utah to get back on their feet. Is it fair for children of parents who are homeless? What can be done for these people than just giving them cash? Volunteer work, donating food & blankets, and even drawing awareness to these issues is a great start to helping out homeless population. I suggest you do research on how many persons are homeless due to drug use or because of life mishaps that have affected them negatively.

  3. Abdirashid on March 27th, 2018 2:35 pm

    Before homeless people live in the streets, they don’t care about their house. And also most homeless people live in the streets because they don’t work, and they don’t care about their house payment.

  4. ar mat on March 27th, 2018 2:37 pm

    If homeless don’t have money, how do they eat.

  5. Divine Nyiramugisha on March 27th, 2018 2:39 pm

    It is so sad to be homeless some people don’t give anything to homeless people, but they are human too they need food stamp, clothes, good life homeless people are not happy about how they live. They need good life too like other people and also their children are not happy about it too, but one bad thing about homeless when they use to live in their house they don’t use to clean their house, or take care about their homes.

  6. Aman on March 28th, 2018 1:53 pm

    Homeless people live in a street, and they don’t have anywhere to sleep, and people still treat them badly.

  7. Abdirashid on March 28th, 2018 1:54 pm

    After homeless people live in the streets they need food. And also homeless people can leave the country there in.

  8. Nelson Kabaka on March 28th, 2018 2:09 pm

    Homeless people go through a lot of stuff, live on streets, and they don’t have money or food to take care of their families.

  9. ian on April 10th, 2018 10:02 am

    for realz g

  10. Axel Hernandez on March 28th, 2018 2:26 pm

    If the people need help, why don’t they get a job.

  11. yassin assad on March 28th, 2018 2:29 pm

    Before homeless people live in the streets, they don’t care about their family. And also most of the homeless people do drugs in the streets, thats why people think they are crazy.

  12. Payne on April 5th, 2018 10:31 am

    I speaking out loud really do think homeless people are also people, and I really feel bad for them in the winter especially when it is freezing cold outside, that is why we really need to help out our society and be helpful to others.

  13. Bonnie on April 9th, 2018 9:47 am

    I dont think you should give them money because they may use them on drugs and alcohol, but not all homeless people are like that, like some musicians they had to live on the streets and were homeless but they didnt use it for drugs, they had to work hard to get back up on their feet and complete their dream. That is what a lot of these people are trying to do , they just are in a hard time in their life and they dont know how to fix it. My mom doesnt like to give them stuff because they look sketchy. But sometimes those homeless people are not really homeless, they are just trying to get money. People shouldnt think of the worst of people

  14. mya bahe on April 18th, 2018 10:30 am

    i like this story i wish i can help the homeless and i know a homeless person keep on making good story

The GP Gazette intends for this area to be used to encourage positive, upbuilding discussion. Comments are expected to adhere to our Grizzly PRIDE standards. All comments are reviewed and approved before appearing online. Comments deemed inappropriate will be removed as quickly as possible.

If you want a picture to show with your comment, go get a gravatar.




Navigate Left
  • Homeless people are people too

    Opinion

    You’re a good person… I hope.

  • Homeless people are people too

    Opinion

    Student versus teacher wrestling should be considered!

  • Homeless people are people too

    Entertainment

    Being smart, and sounding ‘smart’

  • Homeless people are people too

    News

    The Wasatch, versus, Granite Park

  • Homeless people are people too

    Entertainment

    What Spongebob Squarepants would be without Patrick Star

  • Homeless people are people too

    Opinion

    Snitches don’t get stitches at Granite Park

  • Homeless people are people too

    Opinion

    Worst duo in history’s careers finally end

  • Homeless people are people too

    Opinion

    Either You Like Them or You Don’t

  • Homeless people are people too

    Opinion

    Feminist demand more than equality

  • Homeless people are people too

    Opinion

    To censor, or not to censor, that is the question

Navigate Right
error: Content is protected !!

Hang on for a minute...we're trying to find some more stories you might like.


Email This Story






The Student News Site of Granite Park Jr. High
Homeless people are people too